Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, technological advancement has been increasing more rapidly than ever before, and consequently, children spend most of their time watching television or playing video games. This phenomenon causes harmful effects to children's mental health, as this essay elaborates. To begin with, excessive screen time has proven to be detrimental for children's development because it increases the risk of feeling alone, depression, and lower self-esteem, because it reduces the time they spend playing with their peers. Playing is an essential part of child development because it improves their memories and imagination, which benefits them in processing information and analysing numbers or diagrams. Furthermore, critical thinking and cognitive abilities will be impaired significantly because their focus is distracted while in learning processes, such as studying or doing homework, and the result is a lower academic result. For example, according to a survey by The Jakarta Post in 2023, children who spend more than six hours per day on screens have a lower score in math compared to those who do not. To address this problem, parents have a crucial role in restricting children's screen time. By doing so, they will have more time to play with their friends and carry out other activities that are useful to improve their concentration. The government also has an essential role to solve this problem by inculcating awareness of the perilous effects of excessive screen time. For instance, the Australian government in 2023 banned social media for those under 16 years old. This policy is expected to increase children's time for study and taking courses, which are imperative for their preparation to enter higher education. In conclusion, I contend that parents and the government have crucial roles to mitigate the harmful effects of excessive screen time by confining screen time or banning social media for children.