Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Colour has a closed linkage with the emotion of the people, therefore it is used as a tool for psychological therapy. It is said that the colour used for decoration in public places, for example, offices and hospitals should choose after serious consideration. However, everyone has different responses to different colours that it is hard to meet the requirement of every individual. Every colour has a variety of meanings, posting influence on how people feel. Red can be seen as happy, while it also symbolises bloody; blue is regarded as anxiety and at the same time good weather. White is the representative colour of an angel in western culture, however, it is the colour of a funeral in Chinese culture. There is no absolute definition of what a colour is because it represents a subjective feeling but not objective facts. Therefore, it is infeasible to decorate public places with a colour that every people prefer. The decoration can only be based on the mainstream local culture that the majority of people feel comfortable with it. Colour can affect the daily life of individuals seriously in terms of health and work capacity. If a person can work in an environment with relaxing colour, he or she will be less stressful and further increase his or her working efficiency. Under a good working environment, his or her well-being will be improved that reducing adverse impacts on their physical and mental health. It is less likely they need to have overtime work because they are more motivated to finish the tasks on time. Hence, they can go home after work to enjoy quality time with their family members to achieve work -life balance. In conclusion, colour is an important element that influences what a person feel. It is hard to have an exact definition of what a colour symbolise in different perceptions and cultures. However, we should respect other civilization when we go to foreign countries.