Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defender’s past record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

Some Legal practitioners are of the opinion that the Australian and British laws that allows jury members to look into the past of a criminal needs to be changed. I absolutely agree because when you look at the money and time that goes into looking into the background of each criminal it does not make much sense. Firstly, it's a waste of time, I remember a case of Wanda Wick had against John Oliver in London in the year 1992, that was a rape case, it was all over the news because it took a year for the jury to reach a verdict because they were waiting on John's past records, in that year John had gone ahead to rape 23 more girl's and even kill 5, this could have been avoided if the jury had judged the case right away instead waiting on his records. Secondly, a lot of government money gets spent while a criminal past record is being tracked, let us not forget that while this is going on the jury members lose money because they are unable to go into their various jobs. Not only is money wasted, other resources like paper, which is terrrible for the enviroment is wasted, all of that money and resourses could be channelled into so many other cases which in turns saves life and keeps criminals in jail where they belong Lastly, If we were all judged by our past we would have no chance to prove ourselves, i believe if the jury looks at past of criminals subconciously a bias has been created even in a case where such a criminal is innocent based on the fact that the individuals past isn't clean the jury might make a hasty decision that could have been avoided if no one knew of the criminals past, i believe not checking criminal records can keep innocent individuals out of jail. In conclusion the good that comes from not checking criminal records far outweighs the bad, since we all know times is of the essence when it comes to saving lives, we also know that we don't want to live by our past mistakes and we definitely want our tax money to go into things that benefit the community.