It is thought that the increase in youth crime rates can be linked to an increase in violence shown in the media. Do you agree that this is the main factor causing juvenile crime and what ideas can you offer to deal with the situation?

It is shocking to witness that involvement of youngsters in crime is augmenting day by day. Some sources are saying that it might be associated with the media because it negatively influences them. I believe that the media are playing a vital role in this case, including family structure too; and I think government and parents should tackle this issue. There are two primary reasons why juvenile crime is increasing. Firstly, media is a powerful stream that has bad influence on children. This is because ample of times television program shows cruel scenes and children try to imitate them. This is an issue because they are unaware about what circumstances they have to face afterwards. For example, according to The New York Times Publisher, a student killed 10 pedestrian after watching a racing movie. Secondly, another cause among youth is the changing family structure. The reason for this is that nowadays both parents are working and children left alone at home. As a result, they may fall into bad company and start smoking, drinking or stealing under peer pressure.  There are two effective solutions to handle crimes committed by juveniles. First of all, government should restrict some kind of censorship of television program as they have the authority to enforce such law. For instance, they should telecast violence type of program after midnight. As a consequence, children would be less likely to watch those programs and it may help in reducing the juvenile rate. Another solution should be taken by parents is that they should watch television with their children and should monitor their friend circle. The benefit of this is that they know what their children are being exposed to, thus they can observe every single activity of their children. In conclusion, crime among youth is a big concern, and the media only cannot be blamed for that. Strict government laws and good parenting can overcome the difficulties to protect lives of people, especially adolescents.