Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. (opinion) Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The modern era has undergone a mammoth change. There have been ongoing debates whether the working hours should be diminished or not. Some people opine that hours spent in the workplace must be redacted as the boom in technological and scientific advancement over the past decade has led to automation in industry, which has greatly diminished the need for manual labour. I strongly agree with this view, and in this essay, I will provide my reasoning and suitable examples to support my opinion. On the one side, researchers made machines to reduce effort. Some types of industry such has agriculture, IT and packaging, do not need the manual touch that was once so important for their existence. Therefore, it is imperative that the hours which were clocked by employees be reduced as well, as every individual has the right to reap the rewards of science. To exemplify it, there is a paradigm of surveys conducted by a human-rights group illuminated the fact, that a reduced workday adopted by countries like Finland and Norway, has in fact improved productivity, greatly enhanced the quality of service and was a boost to overall well-being of the working man. By contrast, nations who stuck with the traditional work-week have exhibited symptoms of low morale and poor work-life balance. Thus, we can agree that technological advancement can be used in certain scenarios to achieve a better workplace. On the flip side, few masses opine that reducing redundant time likely to affect incomes of employee. The most valid reason they give is that the owner of the business being more powerful, they have the right to decline in employee wages, if a person’s working duration will decrease. Apart from that, it has been proved from ages that the relationship between the two is quite mutual. Rather than giving instruction, employers can tactfully take a decision on salaries based on the duty’s hours which can disturb their budget. To recapitulate, considering everything, I strongly believe that the time to complete the job should be trimmed out. The reason is that we must remember that technology and automation were done to reduce effort. Although staff has multiple tasks, they are enabled to do more assignments per hour with the use of machinery advances. It would both help the organization to retail their better performing employees and motivate staff.