One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It’s well known the fact that healthcare and well-being play a crucial role in the life of each individual, forcing the scientists to find out new formulas to face continuous threats to health. Needless to say, in the last few decades, giant strides have been taken in the field of Science. Thanks to these recent achievements the life expectancy curve has increased steadily. Thus, it goes without saying, longer lifetime is given to aged people the opportunity to continue their work and projects as long as possible, enjoying a better existence on Earth. On the other side, in this way, younger people could have more time available to learn values and traditions from the experience of elder and wise people. It also must be considered the significant role played by grandparents in helping families to deal with the increasing number of commitments looking after children. On the other hand, it should be considered that if lifespan keeps on increasing, it can be very likely that in the next future humans will have to face a scarcity of resources. Besides, when people enjoy a longer life, they are more inclined to refuse to retire at an early age. Consequently, this will lead to unemployment for the young generation. Indeed, if skilled and knowledgeable old people hold a large number of positions it will be more difficult for younger graduates to get a job and so to bring a breath of freshness to the workplace. It can be concluded, without any doubts, that longer life expectancy far outweighs the disadvantages. As a matter of fact, improving medical care, probably a country will have fewer death cases caused by fatal diseases. Furthermore, longevity is a key indicator of the development of a country. Everyone is aware about the fact that human existence is precious and even if someone might claim that longer life could be a burden, almost everyone would like to live longer and contribute to the well-being of the family and of the country for as long as possible.