At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

The news broadcasting has a huge influence on public nowadays. It creates much awareness among people, almost about everything happening around the world. Moreover, it is extremely convenient for all to stay updated. Thus, certainly it is a beneficial growth. This essay will discuss its impact in detail with a suitable example. To initiate, numerous media platforms such as, TV, radio, and newspapers are easily available to everyone now. This is to say that, due to the increased access, the public is now well informed about the level of crime, types of crime, Global crisis, economy, and other significant issues prevailing. Furthermore, in the past only fewer people were aware and considered the media’s importance. To exemplify, according to a survey conducted by the University of Solan, India, in 2010, an average person spends at least 30 minutes a day to watch news channels. However, this duration was much less previously. Secondly, there are several news channels available in different languages, which provide the latest reports on the problems occurring at local, National, and international levels. In other words, it is easy for the society to choose the language and the type of coverage that they are interested in. For instance, in India, the free DTH service provides approximately 28 news channels, out of which 5 are available in Foreign languages. Hence, the exposure and convenience have greatly improved. To conclude, Mass Communication leads to a society, which is more aware. Moreover, getting updates about the world has become easier at present. Therefore, this impact on the people’s lives is a positive development.