In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

"Your dreams can come true, if you try hard." It is one of the most heard quotes which is widely believed by some people all around the world and is told to children. This sentence would have some pros and cons for kids who are starting to dream for their lives. In this essay, I will introduce some of them. One of the most important advantages of this fact would be hope that it tries to give to children at every level of society, poor or rich and so on. It is a personality-based goal and denies so many real factors that could be faced in older ages such as economic issues and other social discrimination. To build upon my point a little more, when parents advise their children with some ideas like this, they hope to motivate them and broaden their horizons by dreaming big, because if they do their best effort, the target can be achievable. For instance, I have a vivid memory of being an astronaut when I was a kid. I did my best and studied seriously to become the person that I wished to. But as I got older, the real factors started to show up in my life which made my dream disappear. I will extend this factor in the next paragraph which is allocated to the drawbacks. In regards to the disadvantages, firstly, They may not be faced in childhood but as we become youths we experience various kinds of social discrimination or problems which are usual for every human life. For instance, If you are a girl, you can't be a pilot or participate in some professions as they are considered only for men. In this situation, the girl who always had the wish to have one of these careers is forced to change her dream or should immigrate to the appropriate country. Both of these facts can be so disappointing for young people with big dreams. Secondly, as we grow, the reality of trying smart, not hard can show its importance more than in the past. Although it would be on a different side of the concept that we grew up with, it can be beneficial as far as you get to the point. From that moment, young people can change their mindset and live in a different and much more advantageous way. To put it in a nutshell, However hard efforts can be motivating for children, it denies realities mentioned in this text which can be heavy to face in youth eras.