Today more people are overweight than ever before what are the primary causes and what are effects of this epidemic?

Obesity is a very common problem these days in which sedentary lifestyle and poor eating habits are the preliminary contributors. Consequently, it leads to several chronic disorders and lack of self-confidence. Modern, sophisticated technology has tremendously transformed our way of living by making it more passive, as people nowadays rely heavily on electronic gadgets for recreational activities rather than playing outdoor games. This minimizes their physical activity that is otherwise extremely beneficial in burning calories and losing weight of an individual. In countries like UK and USA, even the teenagers are facing the issues of weight gain owing to their inadequate physical exercise. In addition, unbalanced diet is another major reason behind this. The majority of people ignore a healthy diet plan, whereas they consider eating, as per their choice, irrespective of nutritious value that could be detrimental in a long run. A survey by WHO reveals that the proportion of junk food consumption is much higher than the vegetables and fruits among Canadians which enhances the weight gain rate in their nation. As for the effects are concerned, obese people are at a higher risk of cardiac arrest, high blood pressure, depression, anxiety and much more. This could be due to the fact that the unsaturated fat starts depositing in the tissues and then, block the arteries leading to stroke and related cardiovascular diseases. I would like to substantiate this with the help of an example, Tagore Hospital in Jalandhar city of India declares that most of their bypass surgery patients were over- weight. Hence, it concludes that overweight is further giving rise to several severe diseases. Simultaneously, corpulent people have low self-esteem and they are not as confident as a physically fit human being. This is the obvious reason behind their less productiveness in their personal and professional lives. As an evidence, Prabhjot is a postgraduate student and he is consisting failing his interviews due to the poor performance because he is not confident enough to interact with the interviewers, as his weight always lose his confidence. Taking into consideration above said arguments, it can concisely be mentioned that inadequate physical activity and unbalanced diet are the main causes of gaining weight that results in severe health complications and a sense of de-motivation among over- weight individuals.