Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that the family patterns and roles of each family member have significantly changed over the last decades in many parts of the world. In this essay, I would like to discuss several possible changes and I believe that those changes are totally beneficial. On the one hand, the way a family is organized is far different from that in the past. Firstly, men and women are now sharing the role of breadwinners. A few decades ago, fathers were those who earned money to raise the family, while nurturing progenies was the responsibility shouldered by mothers. Secondly, nuclear families substitute traditional extended families. Before the nuclear family process, many generations lived together in the same roof and shared living costs, food, and clothes. While modern families just include parents and their children so they have an independent life and enjoy more private space with their children while trying to catch up with their relatives from time to time. On the other hand, several reasons could explain why these trends bring more desirable outcomes than its drawbacks. The first benefit is that the financial pressure that parents of medium-sized families have to burden is far less significant than that of large families. This allows them to save money for long-term purposes, such as affording a house or sending their children overseas for tertiary education. The second benefit is that with the rise of nuclear family units, the pressure of supporting other family members other than their child could be lifted off their shoulders. This means they can be more focused on growing and raising their offspring. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned explanation, I would like to reaffirm my position that the household structure and the role of each family member are altering positively.