In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these TV shows and books are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

The fast-paced lifestyle of today has radically transformed our choice of entertainment. As a result, viewers and readers across the world have displayed increased preference to the genre of thriller and suspense based crime books, TV series and films. One of the cogent reasons for this massive interest is the "forbidden" factor behind such crimes. While these fictional stories have a huge fan-following, I believe they also have a significant negative impact on the unscrupulous elements present in the society. Mankind's innate nature of solving pieces of puzzle behind a forbidden crime, has always intrigued writers as well as filmmakers. Over the decades, classics of Alfred Hitchcock and Sherlock Holmes are still deeply admired by millions. Furthermore, dramatisation of these mysterious, page-turner books into TV Series has built up the suspense factor to even greater heights. In addition, the trend of leaving the puzzle unsolved towards the closing of an episode has given rise to binge-watching. To illustrate with a contemporary example, the ever-increasing viewer-ship of these highly rated thrillers and crime dramas has brought in multiple seasons and many additional series of such programmes on both Netflix and Amazon Prime Video. On the one hand, crime based books and TV programmes keep up the level of entertainment. However, on the other hand, many a stories end up becoming the inspiration of real-life crimes. Moreover, the actors and writers not only portray a detailed screen play of the crime scene, but also the gaps that are identified by the investigative agencies later. According to experts, many criminals study these TV series thoroughly to avoid and gaffes or blunders when committing these in person. For example, a recent burglary gang was arrested in Spain and they cited that a highly successful Netflix series "Money Heist" was their inspiration. To conclude, it is fair to state that the fast-paced track of crime based drama or novels will keep the interests of the viewers piqued up. However, I believe we need to be cognisant of the fact that these thrillers will be watched not only for entertainment purposes but also for some unbecoming upcoming real-life crimes.