In the future more people will choose to go on a holiday in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday. Do you agree or disagree.

Exploring new locations has always been an innate desire of humans. Many a new place was discovered just because someone wanted to sail to far-off lands. Critics argue that the pandemic effects will be devastating for the tourism industry and as a consequence, people in the future will prefer holidays in their own country, and thus avoid international travel. While there are detrimental impacts of travelling abroad currently, I completely disagree that international holidays will become a thing of the past and that people will spend vacations only in their own countries. One of the significant factors considered while planning a vacation is the change in environment. People across the globe want to get away from their local surroundings in need for a pleasant change. Therefore, many holiday-goers from smaller sized countries prefer to choose vacation spots which have climate and topography different to their own nation. Not only do vacation-goers living in the plains want to visit the mountains or sea beaches, but also nationals from colder countries want to visit warmer regions and vice-versa. To illustrate with an example, a recent poll conducted by the Lonely Planet magazine resulted in more than 95% of travellers preferred spending holidays in a foreign location that a local one, citing the change in weather as the vital factor in their decision. Another reason, contributing to the growth of international holidays is the charm of experiencing different cultures. Furthermore, travelling to locations that have a different historical background and lifestyle, is a fascinating experience in itself. Not only does this help broaden one's horizon, but also teaches humility when privileged travellers see people striving for success in a not-so-developed society. In addition, holidays to places that were once thriving civilizations, also gives a perspective on the fleeting nature of power. The quest for experiences like these has therefore given rise to a variety of holiday packages to choose from. For example, Cox & Kings, one of the world's leading tourism operators offers holidays not only to historical locations, but also customized packages for volunteering activities in underdeveloped nations. To sum up, it is fair to state that the tourism industry through currently hit with multiple flying restrictions, will rise back to its glorious heights once the world recovers from the Covid-19 virus. Moreover, holiday-goers will continue to trot the globe to explore different locales and will not be constrained to travel only in their native places.