Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smart phone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

One widely held opinion is that people these days tend to consume a majority of their spare time for smart devices such as smartphones. Personally, it is agreed that this trend has detrimental effects to the society. In this essay, some possible reasons will be discussed to elucidate my point of view. To commence with, the most plausible cause of this issue could be for the traditional gap. For example, families nowadays are entirely unable to understand each other’s need and therefore, they abuse modern technology as a means of recognizing them. That is to say, smart devices have a great impact on human being’s self-actualization because it allowed people to share their own feelings on social network site, which is increasingly difficult to exist under the house roof at meal time. Thus, people rely enormously on smart devices in order that they can help eliminate the feeling of isolation. Second, since the popularity of traditional entertaining method such as books or TV programs decreased, people have chosen sophisticated devices, namely smartphone, as a replacement, for, if people owned one, it would be unnecessary to purchase magazines or a TV. Specifically, it is not only that smartphone could access a huge source of office document online, but it can be a means of communication for people to talk to their long distant relatives. Therefore, using smartphones in leisure time is favoured by modern generation for its convenience and flexibility. To recapitulate, although technology has developed dramatically, the main reason contributing to people’s phone using habit is because of the ignorance in their own house, and if this trend continues, it would be catastrophic for people in the future in many ways.