In some countries, people are purchasing fewer new items and more second-hand goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

In certain nations, second hand products are gaining more preference among individuals instead of buying new products. However, I believe this is largely a positive trend, although there is a small dark side to it. This essay will, firstly, suggest the main cause of this growing trend. Secondly, it will outline that by purchasing used goods have both positive and negative developments. The foremost cause for the increase in the acquisition of pre-owned goods rather than fresh-new goods because the latter is available at cheaper price. This is to say, people are able to get used products with the same features and quality than the brand new one and at a lower rate. Thus, they are able to save their money, which can be invested in different essential areas such as education and financial sectors. To elucidate, a recent study by The Time on March 2016 showed that more than 80 percent of people reported that they prefer to purchase second -hand products they get the same feature at less cost. This trend has a positive impact on the climate of the country. The sale and purchase of used goods help in reduction in the use of natural resources and environment degradation. This is to say, every manufacturing of products need the use non-renewable resources. With the purchase of used good the requirement of producing new goods is reduced in factories. Moreover, the release of toxic waste and chemicals generated at the time of production of goods in water bodies and land is also avoided. Thus, protecting the surroundings from pollution. To exemplify, a recent study in The New York Times showed that with the increase in the 60 percent supply of these products the environmental pollution is brought down from 30 percent. To conclude, People are more inclined to purchasing pre-used goods as they help in saving a lot of costs of people. This is beneficial for the habitat of the country as it helps to reduce the amount of pollution.