Some people think that international news is more important than local news. Others argue that local news is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

People hold different views when the question of keeping themselves abreast of the latest news arises. As a part of society holds the opinion that global news has an upper hand as compared to the domestic, whereas, the other group, on the contrary, believes that the local happenings have more significance. I personally believe that one needs to aware of both national and international headlines in this competitive world, so both the perspectives will be discussed. People arguing in the favour of international news, generally, claim that in today’s developing generation more and more people are investing in the international business and trade, therefore one need to be aware of all the happenings around the world. Because a major happening in one country can significantly affect the business across the globe positively or negatively, so such situations need to be monitored closely, which could be done easily through the international news. In the recent situation of COVID19, for instance, all the cross country trades were put to the stop and the situations, and the latest announcements from the different nations could be tracked easily from the new updates, which further helped the businessmen in investing carefully. While, on the other hand, many still believe that the local updates are much more significant because many day to day activities depend on them, because through the news one can get alert, and prepare beforehand for any current or upcoming situation that might affect them. It is a clear fact that a local situation, for example a riot; hunger strike; traffic diversion due to a construction worker, can have a great impact on any individual’s daily routine. Therefore, prior information can help in prevention and preparing the community accordingly, which has been proved right in the situation due to the Corona virus. The local news about the spreading of disease made people much more aware and alert, which further, to some extent, helped in slowing down the its spread. In conclusion, both international and national news are significant, as these both control our lives differently, but significantly. For the ones who have invested in the business or have relatives in other countries, the global news is more significant, whereas, the others with more local connections consider domestic news to be more important.