In spite of the advances made in agricultural, many people still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

In recent times, there has been significant advances made in the field of agriculture. Instead, a lot of people in the world are still plagued by hunger.Majorly due to climate change, and lack of funds to procure resilient crop varieties, depot and transport facilities. The essay below will discuss the cause of the terrible circumstance, and as well suggest the solution to this catastrophic situation in poor countries. To begin with, a major reason for hunger in some countries is the problem of climate change. With the increased release of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, and its attendant global warming, several regions are experiencing extremes of weather conditions such as floods, droughts, and storms. Which results in a shift in the ecological system, increasing the occurrence of different diseases, and as a result, the growth and survival of different plant and animal species cannot be supported by these weather changes. Consequently, less food is available for residents in such regions. For Example, floods are a major reason for destruction of crops and barren of land, thus decreasing the availability of favourable cultivation in that area. Furthermore, the lack of funds to procure high-yield, pest-resistant seeds, storage equipments, and transport facilities contribute significantly to the famine experienced in some countries. In other words, the seeds available for cultivation are easily destroyed by pests. While some of these seeds can be salvaged through storing, inadequate facilities to ensure this will result in spoilage. Additionally, lack of transportation facilities from farms to consumers, including good roads, rails, and/or vehicles further increases the risks of hunger. However, there are several measures that can be taken to tackle these issues. In the first place, the government should invest in improved farming methods that bypass the effects of climate change. For instance, Greenhouses can be used for plantation. In addition, funds should be budgeted for purchasing high quality seeds, equipment for storage, and on improved transportation. In conclusion, while the limited number of farmers has contributed immensely to many people going hungry, programs directed towards raising the numerical strength of farmers will go a long way to deal with the problem. Government has to take major steps regarding funds, storage and others to provide basic nutritional food to people under the poverty line.