Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, the colossal upsurge in interactions regarding the usefulness of movies is quite alarming. While some school of thought agrees that films are only crucial for entertainment purposes, others are of a contrary opinion. Personally, I believe that movies should benefit us in terms of cultural and moral education and the remainder of this essay will expatiate on both views. On the one hand, a growing number of individuals say that if people watch movies, they would derive pleasure from it. Aside from the fact that films help to unwind stress and relax well, it is also a good way of deriving humour which result in a good mental and physical well-being. For example, in a research conducted by a theatre student at the University of Ibadan, 75% of the respondents agreed that they relax very well while watching movies. Consequently, video play would help to shape our well being by amusing us. On the other hand, others think that video scenes should be educational and I concur. Moral values can be learned by seeing movies towards developing peoples ethical standards and ideal behaviours. For instance, The Faithful Woman is a movie that focuses on how a lady can effectively balance her work life as a boss and her wifely role in marriage. A lot of women who watched this movie said they now build positive relationships with their husbands. More so, culture and traditional histories can be learned in movies towards helping individuals to appreciate and understand their societal norms. Overall, the movies have become incredibly common. Although some feel it is only an entertainer, whereas, others disagree. I am of the firm opinion that movies could play significant educative roles in terms of moral and cultural lessons.