Prison is the best punishment for criminals. To what extent do you agree?

It is widely believed that incarceration is the best means of reducing the crime rate, whereas some people think that other measures could be done to punish the offenders. In my view, punishment for criminals will be doing the most affected by the law, because it can contribute to cutting the level of rising crime. Prison is commonly agreed to be the best way of preventing law violations because the sentence can help change the prisoner’s mind. People who commit petty crimes, such as theft, vandalism, reckless driving will be sentenced to six months or a year, enough time for offenders to repay for their price. Life imprisonment, solitary confinement, or even corporal punishment would be allowed for serious crimes, for example, illegal trafficking, attempted murder, drug dealing; people with those crimes will stay behind bars for a very long time to rethink about the things done in the past. As a result, the chances of re-offending and criminal activity would be decreasing. However, there has been a disagreement about imprisonment for some people, as it is thought to be inhumane. Some approaches have been suggested to punish the perpetrators; good examples of this would be fine, community service, being sent to a re-education camp, etc. Nevertheless, I am completely against the idea of those easy methods because offenders will act as being regret and when released, they are more likely to re-offend. Besides, the measures will not affect much the dangerous inmates, such as rapists, serial killers, gang leaders, since they have been living a life of violation that it will not be easy to give up, especially with those methods. Overall, there has been a debate about if prison is the best way of punishing criminals. I would agree with most people that tough imprisonment should be done to minimize the crime rate and make the inmates rehabilitate.