Today the high sale of popular consumer goods reflects the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The sixties saw the rise of Madison Avenue, a narrow lane in downtown New York that quickly rose to become the ' mecca of advertising'. Since then the rise of advertising has been fast and rapid, and we now see astronomical sales of popular consumer goods. In my opinion, this only highlights the impact of good advertising rather than the actual need of the consumers for these goods. In this essay I shall discuss the reasons for my strong opinions on the power of advertising and how it deceives consumers. Social media today is a very powerful tool. People of all generations, ranging from young teenagers to old pensioners are addicted to their phones. Recent studies from the University of Heinz have shown that 70% of all adults between the age of 18-35 spend more than 8 hours browsing through social media applications on their mobiles. It is no surprise then that advertisers are making full use of this 'phone addiction' to promote their products. This is often done with the help of influencers and celebrities, who are paid to market certain lifestyle items to their followers. However many of these products are high priced and of limited utility. A recent post by popular footballer Ronaldinho featuring Stanley glass bottles, saw the sales of the product rise to over 200% within 15 minutes. The bottle has since become an internet sensation with people even robbing stores to get their hands on the bottle. In my opinion, this frenzy over a regular item like a glass bottle highlights how much advertisers use social media to influence sales and this often has no relation to the actual need of the people for that item. On the other hand, some may argue that advertising also helps promote various small industries by making consumers aware of the variety of products in the market. But as advertising is a paid service small business owners often lose out to the bigger corporations which can pay more and have a higher reach of their products compared to low-scale companies. Date published in 2012 in the New York Times showed that every 10 dollar extra spent on advertising results in a 20% hike in sales for that particular product. In conclusion, I believe that higher sales of popular goods only reflect the stronghold that the advertisers have on the consumers. Due to advertising more and more people are now spending money buying products that they do not necessarily need.