Public celebrations (such as festivals, national days etc) are held in most countries. These are often quite expensive and some people say that the government should spend money on more useful things. Do you agree or disagree ?

Festivals and national events mark the cultural and historical background of many countries, and thus most of them celebrate such occasions lavishly. There is a school of thought, which believes that governments should focus more on practical things such as infrastructure, education or economical condition of the country. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that authorities should pay more attention to the welfare of its citizens. In this essay, we shall elaborate this topic further. Over the past decades, governments have spent enormous on national events and festivals through parades, concerts or air shows, and ignoring the condition of the country. On the one hand, these events portray an outstanding example of the nation, but on the other hand, ignores the responsibility the higher authority has on its people. However, there are several other things that should be looked after, for instance, the education system which improves the literacy rate of any country, eventually enhancing the future though inventions and technological advancements. Similarly, the development of roads and buildings portrays a significant advancement in the infrastructure sector. Moreover, countering the economic condition of the nation by monitoring investments and employments, for example, creating job opportunities for the under-privileged group, minority-based educational support. Furthermore, the health sector can also be improved to provide the best in line support and care for the citizens. Although the national events are of great significance, these areas should be monitored first. Additionally, holidays can be celebrated on a small scale in order to respect the tradition. To summarize, democracy was instigated to serve and preserve the rights of people; therefore countries should prioritize it’s citizens growth and development more than on national holidays or occasions. Alternatively, a sophisticated yet lively celebration can be encouraged.