Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? what could be disadvantages fo being self employed?

It is true that these days, a significant number of citizens prefer to work as self-employed instead of working in a company or organisation. In this essay, I will offer a possible reason for this trend and go on to set out its principal drawbacks. The cardinal reason why people choose this type of employment is its flexibility. It gives workers more freedom to organise their working schedule, paving the way for them to decide how many working days they will have or choose their working place. For example, they can work only 3 days per week, which gives them an opportunity to use the remaining days for solving their personal issues, hobbies or spending more time with their nearest and dearest. Moreover, if they aim to get more profit, they can extend their working week even to 7 days. Therefore, under these circumstances, employers are able to allocate their time as they prefer, which allows them to live a more enjoyable life. However, this phenomenon has its disadvantages. Firstly, the lives of self-employed workers have become less sustainable. As a result of an increasing number of people who choose to be self-employed, the demand for a variety of positions has increased. It leads to the phenomenon when it is more difficult to find the job. Pharmacists, for instance, who used to have dozens of job offers per day ten years ago, nowadays have to look for employment opportunities long in advance. In addition, nobody will pay them if they are ill or go on holiday. Hence, they might not have enough costs to cover their basic daily needs in such situations, which means that they always have to allocate their budget very thoroughly, putting their money aside. In conclusion, I take the view that the main reason why people aim to be self-employed is the flexibility of this type of employment. However, it has its drawbacks, such as less sustainable lives and the absence of salaries when they got sick or go on holiday.