In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the past few years, huge shopping complexes have gained popularity among buyers, which has led to the extinction of neighbouring businesses. According to me, it is a negative impact on the financial development of locals which will seize the potential opportunities for growth of their shops. Due to rise in enormous supper markets, where everything is available in one place, people are more attracted towards it rather than tiny markets. For example, when they offer appealing discounts and sales on the products which tends to attract more people than usual. This is causing a distress effect on smaller businesses and they are on the verge of disappearance. A recent study shows that, 35% of native stores have filed bankruptcy, due to loss of customers on a regular basis and it continues to rise gradually. Every city is renowned for their regional markets and its culture, which is also one of the important factors, that people consider before travelling to new places. Furthermore, the traditional stores carry the legacy of that region/country, which is very important to be preserved and passed on to the next generation. As they are vanishing, many countries fear about the history, culture, and native craftsmanship to lose their identity because they cannot survive against the franchise business tactics. To conclude, if these big chain places will continue to gather the fame and attraction from the customers, that time is not far, when all the community markets and their legacy will be banished from the face of that city.