Many people think that modern day parents are more over-protective than parents from the past.  To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience  Write at least 250 words.

It is often argued that the majority of parents nowadays are more over-protective towards their children as compared to the past. However, individuals around the globe are sceptical and are questioning the validity of this statement. I completely disagree with this statement and this essay will discuss the reasons behind this consideration. First of all, parents nowadays are considered to be overprotective because of the personality of their children. Youngsters nowadays tend to be more hot-blooded and impulsive than ever before, making their parents worry about their well being, and thus causing them to be overcautious around their children. As a result, parents over-indulge themselves in the life of their children, which may come as them being over-protective in the eyes of an outsider, but parents are just trying to be safe and cautious. Thus, this behaviour cannot be considered as them being overprotective towards their child. Furthermore, it is a fact that circumstances have changed in the modern society as a proportion of crimes are increasing, which makes parents being more protective towards their offsprings. For Instances, Kidnapping and robbery have increased dramatically within past 20 years, which makes it understandable why parents feel the need to protect their child. Moreover, the Internet is not safe as it seems, scams are quite common in present days, making the parents the sole responsible individuals whom can teach their children about these problems and, if needed placing some restriction on them, which is not a sign of over-protectiveness. To conclude, the behaviour and change in society have compelled the parents to become more over-protective, so as to provide a safe environment towards their children. Furthermore, in some ways, their action cannot even be considered as over-protective as they are just doing this for the welfare of their offsprings.