Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that in order to create a society with no pollution, clean water, and proper garbage collection systems, only government and NGOs must take corrective action instead of an individual. However, I partially agree with this statement, because there are some roles for the dwellers too to make the atmosphere clean. These responsibilities will be discussed in subsequent paragraphs. In third world countries, the basic necessities including: drinkable water, garbage-recycling, greenery, and pollution free area, are major challenges. In order to resolve these problems, government and other organizations such as NGOs and donors should take responsibilities. Therefore, to provide purified drinking water, higher authorities must install water filter plants. Moreover, the proper garbage collection and regular cleaning of the main stream for waste water drainage must be accomplished by the local councillors. In addition, plantation and the infrastructure of roads can also enhance the beauty of the society. These challenges need huge investment, so government should provide subsidies in term of land or taxes to big organizations and coerce them to develop green belts and roads in societies. In my view, beside the role of government to overcome environmental challenges, personal involvement cannot be neglected. Therefore, to make the polluted free environment, individual should take their part as well. There are set rules in some countries for pollution, and people are following that law to make their society healthy. Moreover, a person can plant several trees in their vicinity to make their home surrounding green. Furthermore, in many developed countries, there are strict laws for rubbish and people are trained to throw waste material in the bins. For example, in the USA, if someone throws a trash on the road, they will be penalized. Hence, in order to make people friendly environment, we should understand our responsibilities too. Thus to conclude the topic, it can be said that in order to provide clean and healthy environment, government and forceful organizations ought to complete their tasks. However, personal responsibilities of the dwellers cannot be overlooked.