Some people believe that a person’s criminal record should be removed when they reach the age of 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In a recent development, there is an argument to re-design juvenile justice system. Some would say that, the past crimes committed by someone in their early age should be erased when they become eighteen years old. I strongly opine with the idea of the proponents as this can help to show not only compassionate side of humanity, but also can inspire those young felons to achieve something good in their life. To begin with, irrespective of their age, if there is a person who spent his or her time in jail, will always be treated as junks by society and by removing those crime records for young adults, we can at least try to give them an opportunity to head start. In a recent study, it shows that those who did their due time in jail even made amends, are always getting rejected by society and in many cases that inspires them to commit future crimes. On top of that, some even could not live with this stigma and commit suicide. Additionally, by erasing those records, we can show those juveniles that the society is accepting their past mistakes and willing to give them chance which they are often in dire need of. In many cases, it is observed that those crimes are results of not understanding right and wrongs appropriately and even sometimes directed by their superiors. For example, in last year, an incident took place in Arizona, USA where a teenager was just checking his father's revolver and accidentally shot someone and for that he got sentenced to seven years. To conclude, by removing a person's record of a felony when they reach eighteen years of age, can help his or her life to rebuild from scratch without community's judgmental eye. I would suggest that government should take some serious consideration into this thought and create new laws to make this a reality.