In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Taking a “gap year ” off between high school and university has become a popular option among many young people. Some students use this time to travel around the world, others volunteer and still others begin working. I personally believe this tendency has both positive and negative effects which will be discussed below. On the one hand, spending a year working or travelling is beneficial for students in some ways. First of all, travelling or working helps the youth get practical experience which they can hardly get from the formal training in school. Students who travel away from home develop their independence and self-confidence. During the time going outside, they have good chances to meet more people, visit historical places or find interesting jobs that provide them with life experience, knowledge of culture, customs or tradition. Besides, learners can have time to reduce their stress to prepare for a completely new environment in university. For instance, students after studying for a long period, get a break to relax psychologically and physically. Lastly, having a gap year before you enter college will give you a chance to make long-lasting friendships. These buddies are not only great due to their social aspect, but they can also become powerful business contacts in the future. However, students may face some obstacles if they decide to take a year to break between high school graduation and university courses. The first disadvantage is that taking a gap year could be challenging for students. They may have to work and live independently without parents’ care, and therefore might feel homesick and miss their relatives and families. Additionally, those who decide to work or travel to overseas can face culture shock and language barrier due to different traditional cultures and nationalities. Culture shock is one of the most common challenges you will encounter when you adjust to live in a new country. You are advised to practice speaking gradually so that the local people will understand what you are trying to tell them. In some cases, they may also lose interest in the study. Due to the lack of study time, some students may not remember their lessons even though they might have been good students before. Hence, when coming back to school, they may be left behind, and therefore have no motivation to keep on studying. In conclusion, it is true these days that many high school leavers choose to start their work or take a trip before going to university. While a gap year can bring some immediate drawbacks, I am convinced that it is more likely to have long-term benefits for their lives.