Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

From past one decade, there has been upsurge in many developing countries opening wide for tourists and focusing their efforts on developing and promoting their tourism industries because of foreign revenue and worldwide identity. This is a great step towards boost in nation’s economy and I strongly affirm despite numerous drawbacks that can arise. To begin with, the primary reason for developing tourism in a country is due to the economic benefits that it brings. A well-developed tourism industry creates a lot of new businesses and jobs for local people, and an influx of money from foreign tourists. In addition to this, promoting international tourism can help to improve international relations with other countries, and to share a country’s customs and culture with people all around the world. For example, many schools and universities, nowadays arrange international trip for their students to learn about different cultures and ways of living. Therefore, many tourism companies accomodate this need. However, there are a number of drawbacks that arise from the expansion of a country’s tourism industry. Countries across worldwide are suffering from many enviornmental problem due to rise in tourists count. For example, most tourists generally drink bottled water when on holiday, and this creates mountains of plastic waste every year. Many developing countries do not have appropriate recycling facilities and do not know how to deal with the waste, and therefore, it commonly ends up littered throughout the countryside, rivers, seas, beaches and oceans. In conclusion, I would have to say that expanding the tourism industry in a country is a positive development if it is properly managed, and the environmental and cultural impacts are closely monitored and minimised thus becoming one of the great source of revenue for many countries.