Some people think that a good diet and exercise are not necessary for a healthy and long life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Numerous individuals are leaning towards a more health-conscious lifestyle to increase their life span, whether it be having a balanced meal or running on the treadmill for hours. While I do agree to some extent that it does bring tremendous benefits, I believe that without following this regime, we can still achieve a healthy lifestyle. First and foremost, it is undeniably true that working out will improve your health. For instance, an individual may commit to running 5 kilometres every morning, leading to their stamina and heart organs drastically improving over time. Furthermore, a tailored nutritious diet comprising simple carbohydrates, vegetables and fruits is more suitable for the body than eating at a fast food chain or a high-calorie meal. This is because vegetables and fruits, when swallowed, are easier to digest in comparison to a Mac Burger. In the long term, over-consumption may deteriorate one’s body gradually, leading to diseases such as diabetes. However, a happy mind can greatly impact one’s strength. My grandmother is turning 106 this year, making her the longest-living relative in my family tree. Despite experiencing through two horrendous wars and one famine, working as a Viet spy and consuming nothing but unfiltered rainwater and dry military food. Clearly, she did not follow a workout routine or maintain a healthy meal plan; her advice to me was to be accepting of growth and happy regardless. Hence, this proves that a strong and joyous mentality can lead to a healthy, progressively extended life. To conclude, while scientific research has proven that exercising and having a balanced diet will provide numerous benefits for your body, I disagree and believe that these routines are not compulsory to achieve a healthier lifestyle as there are other ways such as meditation.