People are buying more and more manufactured products to use or own. What effects does it have on the individual and on society? Is this a positive or negative development?

Purchasing manufactured goods is becoming increasingly popular. This is beneficial as well as harmful to both individuals and community. This essay will discuss both sides and draw pertinent conclusions. Manufactured commodities have several benefits at the personal level. In today’s highly paced life, having modern devices certainly helps perform chores more efficiently. On the other hand, buying such goods in excessive quantity has negative outcomes. First, it is an enormous waste of money. Under the influence of advertising or products’ enchanting looks, people might buy them on the spur of the moment. Often times, though, after not being used even once, these items pile up junk and people usually throw them away. This will ensue financial and emotional damage to the owners. On the larger scale, actively purchasing mass produced goods has pluses and drawbacks to the society in whole. More dynamic turnover of goods brings a positive effect on the national economy, boosting GDP. However, some people tend to acquire brand new products to flaunt their wealth or high status. This may provoke frustration in more modest layers who cannot afford such luxury. Sense of charity eventually pales in light of the voracious accumulation of manufactured products. This social gap might entail serious repercussions. Besides, the unchecked mass production is bound to deal a severe blow to the environment, depleting the natural resources and bringing massive pollution in the aftermath. In conclusion, buying manufactured goods in large quantities may lead to unhealthy obsessions with the latest fads. Moreover, this may cause hardship for rather frugal families. On the societal dimension, over-popularization of consumer-goods may shape wrong philosophy in the younger generation who might start placing values on products instead of human qualities. All in all, the tendency of buying too many manufactured products has more negative than positive impact.