“Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

There is no doubt that the number of violent crimes has increased to a large extent nowadays. While many believe that capital punishment is not the solution to control such violence, according to me, it is indeed necessary. Firstly, offenders need to be afraid of the consequences of their actions. This is important because the fear of death can be intimidating to many, and can force them to rethink their decision. Even witnessing another person going through the ordeal also creates unwillingness in them to go ahead. For example, Saudi Arabia has strict punishments for serious crimes such as, rape and murder, which is why the crime rate there is almost negligible. Therefore, if someone knows they might have to face death after committing a crime, it might keep them from pursuing it altogether. Additionally, if someone has been involved in a violent crime, they might not be fit to live among the society and more importantly in prison, where they are fed and nurtured with the money that could have been utilized in many other places. For instance, a significant amount of tax payers' money usually goes to support thousands of prisoners, when this could have been spent on education and agriculture and more importantly on the poor. Hence, instead of letting criminals taking advantage of prison facilities, they should be given the death penalty, so that the cost incurred on them can be spent on something constructive. In conclusion, in my opinion, the government should be focusing more on the good citizens rather than on prisoners who have only affected the society negatively. No matter what the reason is behind a crime, there is no point in keeping alive a person who could become violent and hurt other people. Rather than putting them in jail, these people should be eradicated as soon as possible, so that others with similar intentions will also afraid of following their paths.