Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In today’s fast-paced world, expertise in the English language is considered a crucial skill. Hence, more time is invested in teaching English at school than regional languages. This poses a significant risk of disappearance for these languages. This essay agrees that it is beneficial for everyone to learn English. Subsequently, efforts have to be made to facilitate the survival of local languages, this can be done by devoting some time to teaching pupils and encouraging the use of these languages at home. One of the main advantages of studying English at a young age is that it provides more job opportunities. English is a widely used language and acquiring knowledge in this language opens doors for personal and professional growth by attracting high-paying jobs. This can be essential in improving the quality of life and also helpful in supporting one’s family and loved ones. For instance, employers would prefer an individual fluent in English for an executive position when compared to an person fluent in the local language. For this reason, it is clearly evident that it is imperative that every individual has access to study English. Despite the advantages, it is important to prevent the extinction of regional tongues. This is because it is closely linked to the heritage and cultural roots of an area. As a result, it represents various values and historical sentiments of the local public. Therefore, to respect these values from the past, efforts have to be made to conserve local languages. Another reason could be that the difference in culture attracts tourists from various parts of the world. However, with increased usage of English, there will eventually be very few cultural differences. As a consequence, tourists do not find it interesting to visit new countries. This would lead to a dramatic decline in the economic stability of many countries. To make sure these languages are preserved, measures have to be taken immediately. Firstly, there could be a mandatory inclusion of regional languages in the curriculum of schools. This results in students being taught their native language hence preventing it from dying out. Secondly, parents and guardians could be encouraged to use these local languages at home, thereby increasing the exposure of children to these languages. This results in children learning their language from a young age and improving fluency as they get older. Thus, these measures can be followed to ensure continuous usage of native languages. In conclusion, I agree that being fluent in English can have a positive effect in terms of employment and quality of life, but it would result in the disappearance of various cultures. Therefore, teaching these languages at school and promoting the usage of regional languages can ensure their conservation.