Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern advancements in the field of medical and awareness about a healthy lifestyle have increased the average life expectancy rate in human beings. Some people are suggesting that the increase should be compensated with expanding the current retirement age limit for working professionals. I completely disagree with the notion as it may discourage them from working efficiently and it can delay the availability of vacant jobs arising from the retiring workforce. Firstly, the current retirement age limit has been derived based on the ability of a person to remain productive and efficient at work. If a few years of the average growth in overall life expectancy have been observed, it is mostly related to the end phase of not the prime phase of it. Already, professional surveys conducted among the workforce have proven extreme workload and mental stress on them and the move will surely aggravate the situation resulting in a reduction of motivation to work. Furthermore, the standard employment cycle can experience bad outcomes from the move as it can increase the duration of availability of vacant positions in organizations which would have been possessed by the retiring workforce. Nowadays, thousands of graduates enter the job market and any government cannot afford to hamper with their future job prospects. In my opinion, the retirement period is for leisure and cherishing the memories accumulated over a lifetime for everyone and cannot be delayed by increasing the age limit for professional retirement just because they may live longer. It can be harmful to the overall morale of the working-class people.