In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Despite several campaigns encouraging people to eat more healthily and to do more exercise, little progress has been made in dealing with the problem of obesity and declining levels of fitness. This essay will describe how this situation has come about and argue that the government needs to take action and implement more drastic measures to address this issue. There are many reasons why obesity has increased dramatically in recent decades. Developments in technology have led to an increase in sedentary jobs, and higher levels of income mean that people can afford to drive everywhere rather than walk and to buy processed ready-meals rather than cook. Besides, children, these days spend far too much time on their screens instead of running around outside. The result is a disaster waiting to happen. In my opinion, the responsibility lies with the government, who are not doing enough to help people lose weight and who have allowed food companies to take advantage of the situation. The time has come for politicians to take a stand against the fast-food industry by banning fatty foods and introducing a ‘sugar tax’ to discourage people from buying sugary drinks. Governments could then invest this money into subsidizing gyms, building more cycle paths, and providing free after-school activities so that people would be encouraged to move more. To conclude, in my opinion, modern lifestyles are the major cause of the obesity problem. Although it is up to the individual to want change, people have become too comfortable and reluctant to try healthier alternatives, which is why the government must take the more severe and drastic measures that are needed.