Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music has always been a key distinguisher of culture, but many people believe that it can also bridge cultural gaps and differences in ages. Although I think some people overstate the impact of music levelling the differences between generations, I strongly believe that it can go beyond cultural boundaries and make the world seem uniform. In my opinion, recent songs are not good unifier in terms of generational disparity. In a sense, people tend to listen to music from their early stage of life, but their taste of music has been changing over time as they get older. Besides, tune composers, singers differ completely from past ones. While many youngsters are fond of Pop, Rap, and modern Jazz styles, the elderly may hate these strong genres and sometimes complain about youth preferences. Though there are of course exceptions, fewer elderly are in favour of brash rappers like Kanye with his controversial opinions reflected in his songs. They are more willing to listen to soft music with positive and stress-relief purposes. Therefore, music has less to do with breaking down generational barriers. However, based on several reasons music could build a bridge between people across the globe with various cultures. The main reason is that people from different nationalities may enjoy the same pieces of songs because they express universal sentiments and feelings such as love, empathy, or even sorrow. For example, Taylor Swift who is an American pop singer-songwriter has attracted global audiences' attention because her songs mainly convey a message of love. One of her songs called "Love Story" hits several millions of sales, which means it has been widely accepted by people around the world. Moreover, each country has its unique musical instruments and styles, and its musicians and lyricists use music as a powerful medium to portray their cultural message worldwide. So Music transcends cultural beliefs and connects people through emotional bonding on common issues. In conclusion, although the music does more to divide the young and old, it definitely uses its universality power to connect people with different backgrounds together through creating a common language of the same feelings.