Question It is observed that today communication between family members in today’s times is less as compared to the past. However, some people do not think so. Do you agree or disagree?

It goes without the saying that technological innovations and globalization have significantly altered the way we interact these days. But whether or not this development has increased or decreased conversations between family members has become a moot point. Notwithstanding, this discourse explores both perspectives and will put forward my standpoint, in turn. From one perceptive, the exponents that contend that as opposed to the past, families engage less in discussions with one another have their justification. The rationale behind their reasoning is most likely due to the fact that people prefer chatting with their virtual friends on the net than their own family. In other words, most individuals are becoming very much addicted to different social media platforms such as Facebook, Whatsapp, Instagram etc. They spend the time they would have used for family bonding to viewing profile pictures of friends and fans. Moreover, in order to make ends meet, most adults have turned into workaholics. To illustrate, according to a recent BBC news report, 90% of all career women have less than one hour to interact and share with their young ones and partner as they leave the house very early in the morning only to return exhausted. Needless to say why the highly esteemed attractive sessions within households have become a thing of "x and y" generations. On the other side of the coin, could the argument of the critics possibly hold? These individuals believe that family members communicate Better nowadays since technological progress has made it possible for them to reach out to one another irrespective of distance or location. Put differently with the advent of smartphones, relatives and families keep in touch with one another via text messages, phone calls, and video calls. This is a privilege that was not enjoyed by our progenitors. For instance, parents whose children stay overseas no longer worry about the whereabouts of their children because they communicate via zoom or Skype on a daily basis. Therefore, it may seem wrong to say that communication has declined among families in such a jet age like ours. From my own viewpoint, I am in absolute consensus with the advocates of the school of thought that maintains that families no longer converse as much as they do in the past as the traditional face- to -face interaction with our loved ones has been substituted by unrealistic online companions. In conclusion, having looked into both vantage points, I recapitulate that one -on- one discussions among households have waned over the years due to over dependence on the internet.