Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The railway is one of the most famous transportation systems in the world. It is often argued that authorities should invest their funds for the modernization of rail track system whilst others disagree that roads should be developed. This essay agrees that spending money on railways is more beneficial than roads. The essay will first discuss that the development of rail tracks saves the energy, time and wealth of people and also helps to reduce the pollution, followed by a demonstration of how the improvement of roads can lead to severe problems among the city dwellers. The railway is often considered as the fastest medium of transportation on the land. The facility of comfortable long journeys without any interruption makes it much more popular than other public vehicles. Travelling by train is time efficient and ticket fare is also cheap compared to other transports. Apart from the ability to carry both human and goods at the same time, trains keep the nature contamination free as its gas emission level is lower. For example, a recent research report has revealed that Japanese people have the highest life expectancy in the world because of their pollution free subway rail system throughout the nation. On the other hand, some advocate that is upgrading the roads might be more effective than trains. People can move easily if existing road networks are renovated. But the development of pavements can create huge congestion in the cities. The rate of a traffic jam is likely to rise up as more traffic will be introduced with the up gradation of roadway structures. The probability of accidents will be increased. For instance, a British research group has recently unveiled the fact that nearly 75% of road accidents occur in Vietnam because of highways without speed limits. To conclude, it is quite apparent that a sophisticated railway system can help a country to escalate their economy and decrease the environmental pollution which cannot be achieved by enhancing the roadways. Investment of Government would be fruitful if they spend cash on the advancement of rail lines.