Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge, be levied for admittance? Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Recently, there seems to be an increasing concern about whether museums and galleries should be free of charge for the public. Although some people believe that free entry may bring various benefits to society, I tend to agree with the view that raising the admission fee has more advantages. The main reason why charging for entrance is general advantages is that the money earned from admittance tickets not only helps finance the maintenance for museums and galleries but provides an essential source of salaries for workers in such exhibitions. If there is no ticket for entrance, the exhibitions cannot be self-sufficient. Therefore, those expenses will be a burden on the government. The authorities may need to allocate more budget to subsidize the maintenance of public museums to prevent those valuable artworks from destruction. Secondly, levying an admittance fee may make visitors more cherish the artworks and the environment of the exhibition. Although free admission may attract more citizens and tourists, the value of these artworks would be easily ignored. Some of the visitors would like to touch those precious ancient articles or even cause damage to them. In addition, more visitors subsequently cause more mess. As a result, the museums may need more effort to protect the exhibited items and keep a tidy environment. Despite the positive aspect, there is a potential drawback of collecting fees that the low-income population may not afford the entrance fee. Undoubtedly, the lessons the youth learn through visiting museums and art galleries are valuable and meaningful. Moreover, every citizen may have an opportunity to reach those cultural and historical artworks. For this reason, the exhibitions should give special discounts for children and disadvantaged groups. In summary, museums and art galleries should impose levity on visitors to cover the enormous expenditure of the effort on maintenance and staff salary, or it would place a significant financial burden on the authorities. Moreover, the public should have sufficient awareness of the value of articles in the galleries and the importance of keeping a comfortable environment. However, everyone should have an equal opportunity to experiencing artistic and cultural items. Consequently, some complimentary should be given to those who are in need by the exhibitions or the authorities.