Despite the environmental concerns raised by scientists, people are not changing their lifestyle. Why is this the case? What could be done to encourage people to save the environment?

Experts' warnings about environmental degradation have fallen on deaf ears, with people continuing to display a lackadaisical approach towards issues pertaining to the preservation of natural resources. Laziness is a contributing factor to this behaviour, and increased awareness and rewards for compliance can be a method to motivate people to care for their surroundings. Human beings turn their back on cries about depletion mostly because it is convenient to not make an attempt to restore balance. Following environmental-friendly policies will feel like extra work for many people, and they don't want that. For instance, categorizing household waste into biodegradable and non-biodegradable groups is quite stressful, and families will just lump the waste together and dispose it somewhere instead. Also, practices such as recycling, can be costly, thus, the reluctance to engage in them. However, this attitude can be corrected using a number of measures. Increased awareness about the detrimental effects of pollution can be utilized. For example, my neighbours, after seeing exaggerated visuals about blocked drainage, have started making extra efforts into properly disposing their waste. Furthermore, the government can give attractive rewards such as money or national recognition to individuals and organizations that comply the most with sanitation guidelines and other environmental protection rules. In conclusion, although professionals are trying their best to constantly remind people about the effects of reckless actions on people's immediate environs, citizens continue to ignore them and perpetuate these harmful activities, therefore, the government must employ sterner measures in order to protect the environment.