In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

It is certainly true that many developments have been made in the agricultural sector, yet every day many people around the globe continue to suffer from hunger. The aim of this essay is to examine possible reasons behind this issue and also suggest some ways to tackle the situation. It seems that inadequate distributed recourses and hard to implement advanced agricultural methods are an acute problem leading to hunger in most underdeveloped countries. Due to heavy prices of machinery and chemicals needed for high yield farming, farmers in the developing countries are unable to afford them and may lose a significant part of their crop to drought and pests. Thereby those modern farming methods stay unavailable to the people who need it the most. What's more, it has been shown that strong economies of the Americas and western Europe destroy up to 40% of freshly produced food each year in order to keep the stable market prices. The solution that might be the most effective is to direct the humanitarian funds previously focused on food aid towards developing agricultural infrastructure in third -world countries as well as educating those people. For example, a young man from Kenya who hand built a windmill to water his farm is a proof that training more people like him would have an impact that can last for decades. Therefore, there would be better long-term effects if international organizations and governments redirected that money into helping build better farms, provide more modernized equipment, and sending qualified professionals to train people in need. Although food aid might be a poor solution because it only offers a temporary help, redistributing all that food products from developed countries that are about to be wasted to the poor and hungry would certainly help a great deal. In conclusion, apart from unevenly distributed food products around the world, people in developing countries face myriad problems that hinder their ability to take advantage of new agricultural models. Actions should be taken to evenly spread food surplus and direct more funding to help least developed countries learn more about new farming methods.