It is a good idea for people to continue working in an old age, if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree?

As a comprehensive ageing society looms, the pros and cons of employing the elderly if their fitness allows have become a hot topic. From my perspective, on the one hand, this tendency will alleviate the financial pressure resulting from society's ageing; on the other hand, it to some degree deprives the elderly of the right to accompany their families. Extending the retirement age will definitely decrease the time spent by the elderly on their families. One compelling example can be seen in Japan, where increasingly serious ageing progression has forced its government to revise its laws, dictating that men will retire at the age of 75 while women are 65. As a result, many "silver heads", which were called by some local media, have flown into the Japanese labour market. Instead of accompanying their family members, they have to continue toiling in offices otherwise they will not obtain a full pension, which, in a developed country, is unaffordable. In an interview by NHK with these old people, they complained that they felt "living like a slavery deprived the right to enjoy family lives". Seen from this aspect, extending the retirement age is not plausible. However, the seemingly unreasonable arrangement has its practical concerns. As I have mentioned, many countries, especially Asian countries like China, Japan, and South Korea are struggling with a serious lack of pensions. This has led their governments to expand the labour population as largely as possible, to achieve this, one of the most direct ways is to postpone retirement. China, under the pressure of domestic depression and population ageing, has proclaimed the extension of retirement age, the men from 65 to 70; and the women from 50 to 55. According to the calculation of the Economist, this will put off the peak of receiving a pension to 2035, which otherwise would come in 2028. Therefore, postponing the retirement age is an effective way to tackle the forthcoming ageing society. To summarise, although the extension of retirement age means old people have less time to accompany their families, it is helpful for governments to face the challenges brought by an ageing society, and thereby what we should do is prepare ourselves for its arrival, rather than constantly complain about it.