Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of how involved children should be in decision making which impacts them is probably best considered as a balancing act, in which the severity of potential consequences should be considered before allowing children to make their own decisions. While children should be encouraged to make decisions about things which directly impact them, this must be tempered with common sense and the fact that in some cases, children may not be aware of all the pertinent facts in order to make an informed decision. Children being allowed to choose the clothes they wear offers little risk to the child in the long term, and as long as the parents agree on a reasonable budget, their children could be encouraged to make their own decisions in this regard, thus encouraging their critical thinking process and building decision-making confidence. On the other hand, if children are left to choose the food they eat, without parental intervention or guidance, more likely than not they will opt for convenience food or food which is not necessarily good for their health in the long term. Good as well as bad habits can be formed at an early age, and it is important that children are encouraged to eat a healthy and well-balanced diet; something they are likely to be uninterested in or don't know anything about, and hence parents play a crucial role in tempering their children’s preferences with sound nutritional advice. However, it could be argued that there is little correlation between children making their own decisions about such aspects of their lives and any future narcissistic tendencies, and lack of consideration for the needs of others. Most adults chose their own clothes, food and forms of entertainment; therefore, it is only logical that children should be taught, or guided, to develop the necessary skills regarding such decision making. Nobody would argue that adults only consider their own wishes, so there is little reason to think that allowing children to make their own decisions will lead to those children being any more self-centred than their parents are when they reach adulthood.