Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the last century, computers have been one of the most crucial inventions and many modifications are made to this useful gadget. This essay will outline the importance of this invention as well as few demerits of having them. Every inventions made in today's world have one common goal, and it is to make life easier. Undoubtedly, the invention of computers has completely changed the way people used to live in the ancient times to how we live now. Firstly, computers have made our lives convenient and easy going. In many aspects, computers help people of all ages, whether children, adults or old people. Studies show that, now many schools have shifted to teaching children with computers instead of the traditional pen and book style. Furthermore, making assignments, sending emails and taking exams is also addressed on computers. Connecting the world on the same platform was a dream to many during the 19th century. Now, globalisations and privatisation are possible mainly because of computers. It connects all the nations together and the citizens of various countries. For example, within a few seconds emails are sent instead of letters to someone in a distant location. To cap it all, the lifestyle of the human race has improved significantly. However, there have been numerous cases issued about the misuse of computers. Stealing data has proven to be a dangerous act caused due to computers. In addition, they have made human life stagnant and less active. So, they have a negative impact on one's health. Lastly, children are addicted to these gadgets, which results in a negligible focus on academics. To conclude, computers have revolutionized the way humans lived on this planet. It makes everyday activities much simple, however, there are some disadvantages of it.