Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The culture of celebrities being the face of commercial products, such as drinks and household materials, has permeated sports. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of such an arrangement, then outline my reasons for arguing that the latter outnumbers the former. Admittedly, well-known individuals being affiliated with brands are becoming an increasingly popular movement, with obvious benefits for the manufacturing company, as such a relationship reflects positively on their sales. For example, Adidas reported an approximate 16 percent rise in profit after signing Christiano Ronaldo onto their team as an ambassador. Businesses have the main purpose of making gains, and the above method is a clever way of attaining this goal, moreover, not only does it uplift the organization, but it also enriches the athlete. However, there are a number of downsides to this practice. Firstly, it promotes unhealthy behaviour among customers, for instance, Lionel Messi's presence in a coca-cola advert will influence many people to consume the product in quantities that could be detrimental to their health. Furthermore, fans of these icons may begin to purchase publicized items regardless of their quality, or their need for it. This harmful shopping habit among the public is as a result of the above symbiosis. These negative results, in my opinion, have more lasting effects on people's lives than the positives. In conclusion, although sports stars representing certain production industries can be beneficial to both the industry and the athletes, the public has quite a lot to lose from such an arrangement, thus, only quality materials should be promoted by reputable sports persons.