Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think that it is essential to learn. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued that history subject is crucial for students and should be mandatory, while others claim that it is waste of the time. While history may compel teenagers to purely memorize facts and dates, I believe that it broadens horizons and teaches students about the mistakes of their ancestors. On the one hand, such subject is wrongly studied in the majority of schools, as they tend to absorb only information about dates and facts, which may be just a waste of time. Current assessment system in schools focuses on the ability of adolescents to remember precise data, rather than on critical thinking and analysis. However, I think that such a downside can be easily resolved with proper government reforms. On the other hand, history is knowledge that enlightens students about many cultures in the world. This is very essential, as it makes them more aware and prevents them from future cultural misunderstandings. Furthermore, history can be considered as a playbook with many decisions can may serve as recordings of mistakes, which adolescents can learn from. Therefore, such a subject can enhance diplomacy and spur the development of relationships between countries. For instance, Switzerland with compulsory education in history subjects showcases a high level of diplomacy compared to India, which does not include it in its curriculum. In conclusion, while history subject may have its detractors, who claim that it substantially drains time, I believe that is essential for all students, who want to broaden their horizons and enhance important skill, such as critical thinking.