Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the question of what the major environmental issues in this day and age is. While I tend towards the viewpoint that the risks for endangered plants and animals are the most severe consequences of our environment, I would have to say that other problems about the environment are more pressing. On the one hand, there are many reasons why the loss of certain species of plants and animals is the most serious problem nowadays. First, since the consciousness of people is still bad, destruction of forests by people happened yearly. In fact, forests are being cut down to make way for giant cattle farms, and endangered animals are sent to China to make fake medicine, which causes the loss of biodiversity balance. Second, climate change is another reason causing the loss of wild animals and plants. This means that it gets wildfire or ice melting, which makes plants and animals difficult to find food and even have no place to live in. On the other hand, I believe that there is a range of environmental problems which are needed to be concerned about. One of the most important problems is global warming as people have been suffering for many recent years. It is largely shaped by human activities rather than the nature itself. Fossil fuels like gas or coal, exhaust fumes from private vehicles and gas emission from factories are overused, which leave carbon footprint in the air excessively. This causes many consequences such as ozone layer depletion, ice melting, higher sea level or the greenhouse effect. In conclusion, on the whole, based on the above discussion, it seems to me that it is not necessary to consider what problem is more important and should be more prioritized. The main thing is that how governments tackle with these problems and act on them.