Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent times, instead of working for others, most people prefer being self-employed. This is because self-employment allows better economic status; however, a possible downside of this is that there will not be leisure time for enjoyment. Running a trade, rather than being employed in the organizations helps the individual to earn a huge amount of money. This is because employers never share the profit with their employees, and the salary they provide is just enough to keep workers continue working for them. Other than that, single ownership means all the profits go directly into one's account, and it will not be very long since the person becomes affluent. To illustrate this, private schools in the USA make tons of money annually, but the staff, who work there, struggle to meet their most fundamental needs. Despite the pros, running a business is rather a tedious job, and requires a lot of commitment. That is to say, the owner cannot take a sick leave even during difficult times, or go away vacationing during festive seasons. For instance, a shopkeeper has no off days, does not get to enjoy the holidays with family and friends, and needs to physically present in the store almost every day. Thus, even though the cash flow may be excellent, the seller would not be able to cherish the moments. To conclude, although the majority of individuals are inclined towards owning their business because of the rewarding economic condition associated with it, a drawback of this is that the person will be extremely busy.