Many cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solution can you suggest.

It is clearly evident that most of the towns are facing a serious issue of housing facilities. The two main reasons for this problem is the growing number of establishments such as factories, industries and recreational facilities built nowadays, and the increase in population. The plausible solution to this problem would be the allocation of specific residential regions by the government as well as campaigns for population control. The industrial revolution has had a great effect in today's housing conditions. More and more factories are being built to meet the needs of people. This has reduced the space for residential use in most cities. For instance, in India, a survey depicted that, at least one house belonging to a family of four is being destroyed for the sake of various commercial facilities. Additionally, population growth has been a cause for the shortage of residential areas. Moreover, students from other countries make a long term visit, for example, for studies or research programs. This would urge the need of more and more houses to be built. An effective solution regarding this can be incorporated with the help of government by separating the areas into two, namely industrial and residential. This would create enough space and facilities for an industry and pupils would get appropriate living conditions. In conclusion, population growth and industrial development in most countries pave the way for shortage of houses. However, governments can investigate and allocate suitable spaces so that both industrial and housing facilities can co-exist.