Some people believe that non-academic subjects at school should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that non-academic subjects do not help you in any way in the future and believe that non-academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. This essay will look into why I think non-academic subjects are equally important as academic subjects. Firstly, extra-curricular activities are important for holistic development of a child, this helps one in building their personality, being social and making friends, which could improve one's mental well-being. For instance, taking part in my school's TEDx club has made me more confident and social. Non-academic subjects like art bring out the creativity in children whereas sports teach them the value of teamwork and sportsmanship while also encouraging them to stay active. Lastly, having non-academic subjects is another way of having a break, which can help prevent students from burning out and feeling exhausted. Furthermore, subjects like mathematics and physics which require critical thinking can make students feel burnt out very often if made to study consecutively whereas subjects like arts and sports help students relax and can make them more productive while studying. For example, studying for more than 3 hours consecutively makes me feel exhausted after which I can not understand anything. To conclude, I believe that having non-academic subjects is just as important as having academic subjects as they can lead towards a more holistic development which is more useful in the future. I think schools should be encouraged to give their students non-academic subjects as well.