Some people say that history has nothing to teach us. Others, however, believe that to understand the present, we must learn from the past. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that history is a meaningless subject in school, people usually consider it as an optional subject which can not earn money from. From my perspective, I totally agree that history has a vital impact on our lives, not only in daily lives but also in politics, government and economic growth of a country. On the one hand, I acknowledge that some schools' history curricula are dull for pupils since there isn't a defined process or syllabus in place. First, schools usually do not mention why we have to study history and the effect of it on our lives. Therefore, that is the reason why history is expected to be the extra subject but not the main one. Second, there is a belief that science, technology, or the economy are more significant than geography or history. Because of this, they place a great value on them and frequently pass historical or geographic segments, despite the fact that they permeate the nooks and crannies of a country. On the other hand, we have to mention why it is crucial for the wealthy of a state. History needs to be considered as a part of politics which plays a key role in the economic growth and sustainability of a nation. Furthermore, we can perceive a historical event if we are knowledgeable about history. For example, the conflict between Israel and Palestine is often framed as a war over territory, and many people side with Israel because they think the conflict is genuinely one of land. But if you have enough knowledge about the history of Palestine and Israel, this is the war of genocide, not the war of territory. As a result, having a basic understanding of geography and history allows you to not only defend your ideals but also gain an overview of certain historical events. In conclusion, history should be regarded as a compulsory subject. In essence, history seems to become very practical in many fields such as economics and politics. It affects our own perception of a historical event and the survival of a nation.