Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the topic of whether universities should accept the same number of applicants in terms of gender is of great concern to many people. However, I totally disagree with this idea. On the one hand, the admission criteria of universities should depend on the candidate's qualifications. Firstly, the initial thought of those who hold the idea of accepting equal numbers of both male and female in all subjects is good, while it is unfair for those who have a higher academic level but are rejected by universities because the numbers of different genders are not equal. Another reason is that in order to make sure the numbers are equal, universities have to lower the admission standard to get some candidates who do not have the ability to finish their degrees. As a result, these students cannot achieve the academic goals that others and universities predicted. On the other hand, I agree with those who argue that it is unrealistic to accept the same number of boys and girls in all majors. To begin with, what we think is that students choose courses based on their hobbies and career plans, so it is impossible for universities to control the proportion of men and women to 50% each. Next, some courses are more likely to attract students of a certain gender. For example, there obviously is a higher percentage of females that attend to learn nursing. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that universities should not change the selection criteria in terms of gender.